Back to School, Back to Blogging

reading_sharing_appsSo autumn is definitely in the air, Mr Tall has settled back into school and Little Miss Chatterbox just started her second year at preschool today. Much as I miss having them around, I do really appreciate having some child free time again for writing and blogging!

I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to blog about this autumn, and top of my list is to find some really amazing new-to-us book apps for ages 4-7. Recently it seems like there have been an awful lot of activity and game apps coming out, or collections of stories, with fewer stand-alone book or story apps. I do wonder whether it is a particularly tough market for book apps and whether the forthcoming Kids category on the App Store might help to give them more prominence. Or perhaps I’m just not looking in all the right places! I would love to find three or four new book apps with the wow factor in the next few months, which really make the most of the possibilities of the format.

One of the triggers for thinking about this is that the nominations process for the 2013 Cybils awards is coming up very soon. I am hoping the nominations will be as strong as last year, if not stronger (see https://capptivatedkids.wordpress.com/tag/cybils/ for all my posts about last year’s awards, when I was lucky enough to be on the judging panel.)

I’m sure we’ll also have an activity day or two before Christmas, and perhaps revive my short series of interviews with app developers if there is time, as well as continuing to take part in Playing by the Book’s monthly themed review round-ups.

But I’ll leave you with my big question for today: Which stand-alone book apps from 2013 are your absolute must-haves for ages 4-7?

