Happy New Year – Happy Cybils finalists

Happy New Year to all my blog readers! 2013 was my first full year of blogging and I loved sharing my thoughts on some great apps throughout the year, as well as Mr Tall’s and Little Miss Chatterbox’s views.  Thank you also to all the guest posters and commenters who contributed this year. Inevitably, as a small family blog, we only saw the tip of the iceberg. As we head into 2014, here’s a couple of lists of the best apps of the past 12 months which are worth a browse -

Visit Kirkus Reviews for a great book app list

https://www.kirkusreviews.com/issue/best-of-2013/section/book-apps/

and Apps Playground for 100 titles, both stories and games/activities

http://appsplayground.com/2013/12/23/100-best-iphone-ipad-apps-for-kids-2013

as well as a list from our friends at Geeks with Juniors.

http://www.geekswithjuniors.com/best-apps-for-kids-2013

Cybils_2013_logoAnd with a fanfare, I can also announce that the finalists of the 2013 Cybils Awards were revealed today! The Cybils are given each year by book bloggers to the year’s best children’s and young adult titles, including a Book App category. The Round 1 Book App judges have evaluated a huge field of nominations and selected the following finalists:

Congratulations to all five! You can read more about the finalists here http://www.cybils.com/2013-finalists-book-apps.html

I’m lucky enough to be on the panel of blogger-judges for Round 2 again this year and am really looking forward to our discussions to find the eventual winner (announced in February). I’m very pleased to see one of the 5 apps I suggested worthy of nomination, Wee You-Things, is on the list. I am looking forward to comparing all the apps and particularly getting out of my comfort zone as several of the apps are for much older children.  I think we’ll have a lot of fun choosing a winner!

Finally, just one small blog policy change for 2014. Having blogged for over 18 months now, we have a formidable range of apps on the iPad and I can no longer justify spending quite as much on new apps as I did. With this in mind, I’m altering my policy from always purchasing my own apps to now accepting review codes from developers. I will still continue to focus our reviews only on our very favourite apps – please see Contact Us for more details.

Best wishes for 2014 ,

Helen