AniMatch

I had an interesting conversation on Twitter recently about matching games, which seem (from that very unscientific sample) to be the Marmite of the kids app world. I am not a great fan of matching games, perhaps because we already have so many included as an extra in book apps, and so this is something which has not featured on the blog yet. I asked Damyanti Patel, who loves the AniMatch app, to write a guest post to fill the gap! Here is her review.

One of the most regularly played apps on my phone is AniMatch, a puzzle game of matching pairs. My son used to enjoy it lots when he was around 2 and my daughter is following suit. We’ve had it for a few years now, and while admittedly the market is now teeming with beautifully illustrated, inventively interactive skilfully crafted apps, this simple puzzle game has remained a favourite.

AnimatchThe reasons why I like it are

- Its simplicity including the fact that there are no settings to adjust & the kids are restricted to the one screen

- I think the game aids the kids’ concentration in testing their memory

- They enjoy recognising the animals

- It occupies the kids for an adequate length of time with minimal assistance from me (time enough for a cuppa & a biscuit)

- The noises aren’t essential for play so ideal for when out in a café & we don’t want to disturb other folk

- Learning to match pairs is an essential skill especially when I need help sorting the laundry & finding pairs of socks

Damyanti describes herself as “just someone who loves reading books with her kids and spends too much time in front of a screen” – I can relate to that! She blogs about children’s books at  http://www.meanboyfriend.com/overdue_books. Don’t miss her collection of libraries and librarians in illustrated children’s books under the Illustrated Library tab.
AniMatch, developed by Lima Sky, compatible with iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. Available from https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/animatch-animal-pairs-sounds/id293548481?mt=8 priced at £0.69/$0.99 at time of writing.